ERF Wireless is Destroying Cobalt Broadband

Hey kids – Its been a few days between updates to the blog as since I’ve gotten rid of Cobalt and signed on with ERF, I have been very happy. We’ve had ERF for about 4 weeks now and haven’t had a problem yet.

Online gaming? check
streaming video? check
constant fast speeds? check

But talk is cheap, right? So, here’s a speedtest…

About cobaltsucks

I am a blog that exists to expose the horrible service that Cobalt Broadband provides in rural Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ERF Wireless is Destroying Cobalt Broadband

  1. Scott says:

    I was on ERF for many years out of the Bellville tower until it fell during a storm. Migrated to Texas Broadband which has been a good service, just very expensive at $129/mth. I am very excited to have ERF back in the area $40/mth savings for 1.5 meg download. Are you still happy with ERF? What program are you using for your speed test?

    • cobaltsucks says:

      Hey Scott – yes, still very happy. I use web-based speedtests… you can check yours at the following links:

      http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ (select Dallas as your server)
      http://www.internetfrog.com/mypc/speedtest/ (this one gives you more detail)

      Sorry for delay answering you, I created this blog way back when I had Cobalt and was angry everyday at them for their horrible service and lies.
      Now, I don’t check it as much because I’m really happy with ERF, but I leave it up to warn other people. We used to have Texas BB too, but had many of the same problems with speed and their customer service was slightly lacking, to say the least.

  2. Mike C says:

    How did you get started with ERF? I had Cobalt come out to my house. They had to put a 10′ pole on top of the house (an eyesore) and even then they couldn’t get a signal with less than 50% packet loss. So I told them to take it down.

    Still looking for a broadband solution – I want to check out ERF. Who did you contact to get the process started?

  3. James says:

    when you say online gaming is that just small indie games or do you mean like new games xbox steam mw3 minecraft?

    • cobaltsucks says:

      Sorry for the late response, but I regularly play Battlefield 3, GTA, etc and it works fine. There is occasional lag, but its tolerable for living out in the country.

Leave a Reply

